My start of meal planning

So, I used the summer and started planning my menus for the school year.  I took a look at our typical week and started freaking out about how little time I would have to make  a real dinner….you know….non-peanut butter and jelly dinners…or cold cereal….I have a really cool App on my iPad and iPhone called MealBoard that helps me plan my meals and will even organize my shopping list for me!  I spent many hours searching through my healthy cookbooks and Pinterest for recipes.  I either typed them in (I know, a lot of work…but I didn’t mind) or copied and pasted into my recipe box.  As I find a new recipe that sounds good I add it.  I then planned two weeks worth of meals and went to get the groceries I need.  Instead of having one BIG cook day, I did it in increments.  I used a couple to few hours a few times and cooked.  I took one day and made breakfast items and then another day had a meat marathon and then a side’s marathon!  This worked better for me so I didn’t get too tired. It hasn’t felt like a lot of work that way!

Today I had a meat marathon, and a couple other things.   I cooked up/or packaged up “Double Crunch Honey Garlic Pork Chops”, “Crunchy Breaded Pork Chops”, “Honey Lime Chicken” and baked 2 loaves of banana bread (my bananas were going bad) and made two double batch bags of corn bread mix and put them in the freezer and made Lemon Rice.  This took a total of 3 hours from start to clean-up!  I still need to make my potato sides but I am out of room in my freezer!  Time for a freezer!  Yesterday I fried my hamburger for my chili, my lasagna and made mini burgers and froze them separately for sandwiches during lunchtime.  I had a little extra meat so I fried it and made taco meat and froze it.  This has been kind of fun and really is a time saver!  At last night’s dinner of pork loins, red potato salad and corn, my husband asked me how much I think it cost.  I added it up and figured it was around $10 for us (family of 6) and we have leftovers he took to work today and I am having for both lunch and dinner!!  Not too bad!  I made egg burritos the other night and figured they cost about .50 each!  They are very good and cheaper than McDonald’s!  My girls pull one out of the freezer and warm it on a paper towel for about 1 1/2 minutes and they have a healthy breakfast!

My favorite meal so far was the “Sweet & Sour Chicken” and “Crock Pot Fried Rice”.  I pulled these out of the freezer and put them in separate crock pots and they were tasty!  (The egg rolls in the picture were store bought!  I’m not THAT good!)

Enjoy the pictures!

Once I figure out exactly how this blog works I will start posting some of my recipes and how I freeze the meals.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Categories: Welcome! | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

