Broccoli Cheese Soup

It was such a cold, windy day yesterday I was glad I scheduled Broccoli Cheese soup for dinner!  It was very good!  This is the recipe I decided to share today. I didn’t use a bread bowl (though that would have been delicious!). I also took my broccoli and carrots and and fine chopped them in my new Ninja Master Prep Professional.  (Side note:  That is a cool device!  My blender of about 15 years finely bit the dust and I had to buy another one.  I checked out many brands and found the Ninja had the best reviews.  I love it because it acts as a blender and food processor.  It came with  three different size pitchers with lids and four different blades to blend, chop, mix and puree! Great kitchen tool!)  Anyways, I pureed my carrots and broccoli before I added them to my soup.  I also took some broccoli and cut them into some small chunks and put them in the soup.  I  added a little more flour to make it a bit thicker.  Besides that it was really good and satisfying!  Enjoy!

This recipe is compliments of Pinterest site Budget Savvy Diva:

Ingredients

Instructions
  1. Saute onions in a little butter in a small pan – set aside.
  2. In a large stockpot ( I accidentally used a medium-size pan) – melt butter. Add flour and mix for 3 minutes.
  3. Slowly add half- half – mixing the entire time.
  4. Slowly add chicken stock- mixing the entire time.
  5. Let simmer on low for 20 minutes.
  6. Add broccoli, carrots; onions and cook on low for 25 minutes.
  7. Season with salt, pepper; nutmeg.
  8. Place soup in a blender or use an immersion blender and puree.
  9. Heat soup over low heat and add cheese and mix till melted.
  10. Serve ( hopefully in a bread bowl) and Enjoy :)
Categories: Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

