Lemon Yogurt Muffins

I absolutely LOVE anything lemon!  Even as a child!  I remember, when I was in 6th grade, getting a lemon lip gloss and wanting to eat it because it smelled so good!  Of course I didn’t, but I was tempted!  I have a lemon candle I bought to use for a ‘special’ occasion.  Not sure what that will be, but I have it waiting!  So, I was looking for healthy muffin recipes using yogurt and ran into this one on Pinterest.  They are super easy to make and I really liked the taste of them!  NOt all my girls like them and it may be because of the icing, but, it meant more for me!!  🙂

Here’s the recipe:

Adapted from Cooking Light’s Tuscan Lemon Muffins

1 3/4 cups all-purpose flour

3/4 cup sugar

2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

6 oz nonfat yogurt

1/2 cup water

1/4 cup canola oil

zest and juice of 1/2 lemon

1 large egg, lightly beaten

cooking spray

For the lemon icing:

1 cup powdered sugar

1 tbsp fresh lemon juice

2 teaspoons grated lemon zest

1 tbsp milk

Directions: Preheat oven to 350 degrees. In a mixing bowl, combine flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar. Make a well in the center.

In a separate bowl, combine the yogurt, water, lemon juice, oil and egg. Pour the liquid mixture into the well of the dry mix.

Mix until just combined. The batter should be airy and light.

Stir in the zest.

Spray muffin tins with cooking spray. Divide the batter among the muffin cups and bake for about 15 minutes, or until done.

Allow the muffins to cool slightly while you make the lemon icing.

This part is easy. Simply whisk together the powdered sugar, lemon juice and zest, and milk. Then, drizzle over each muffin.

It makes 12, but I left 2 in the pan for my daughter after ballet, knowing we would eat them all and not save her any!.

It makes 12, but I left 2 in the pan for my daughter after ballet.

IMG_5849

Look at the gooey icing! Mmmmmm

Enjoy!!!!

Categories: Recipes | Tags: , , , , , , , , , | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “Lemon Yogurt Muffins

  1. Pingback: Pop-overs | Anthony Richer

  2. Pingback: Blood Orange Muffins Recipe | Nosh My Way

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

